The Official Horror Page of Maine Author Howard Hopkins

horror books page banner


Welcome to the official horror website of horror, western, pulp and comic book author Howard Hopkins. Stories and novels of horror, dark fantasy and suspense, mystery and vampires, ghosts, witches and werewolves in the classic tradition of Stephen King and Dean Koontz. Let Maine author Howard Hopkins transport you into the dark realms of the supernatural...explore the blackest areas of the soul...journey into the heart of darkness...


Contact Howard here


My name is Chloe Everson. My mission is just beginning. I kick demon ass...

Chloe's a gal usually in trouble--the supernatural kind...

The Chloe Files horror book cover
Kindle Edition Cover

Available from:
From Barnes & Noble: Buy
From Golden Preils Press:
Buy
From Amazon:
The Chloe Files #1: Ashes to Ashes
Now in paperback, Kindle and Nook!

The Chloe Files #1: Ashes to Ashes

A silver locket said to have belonged to Joan of Arc and a children's nursery rhyme...

A 600-year-old monkey with an attitude and a mysterious supernatural symbol on a Caller ID box...

A deadly plague reemerging in the seaside town of New Salem, Maine, and the manifestation of a little girl's ghost...

How do these tie in with the sudden disappearance of Chloe's fiancé, Detective Sergeant Arlo Grimm, while on a routine search for a lead to her twin sister, who vanished thirty years earlier?

When the answer points to an Evil she'd thought vanquished Chloe knows she's in over her pretty blonde head and this time she'll have nothing to rely on except her own wits and courage.


Kindle Edition Cover

There's Evil out there...waiting...

From Golden Perils Press: Buy
From Barnes & Noble: Buy
From Amazon:
The Chloe Files #2: Sliver of Darkness

Now in paperback, Kindle and Nook!

Who knows what crimes cripple the minds of the guilty?

Brant Lamont’s acting career was on a downhill slide, then one night after a performance he vanished. Was he dead? Alive? Forty years later still no one knows what became of the mercurial actor…or the rising starlet who’d become his mistress. It was as if they’d both walked off the face of the earth.

Until Chloe Everson’s world flashes to a bizarre black and white and the specter of one of Lamont’s characters, the Sliver of Darkness, visits her in the dead of the night.

But ghostly visitations aren’t Chloe’s only dilemma, because the New Salem Ripper is stalking the waterfront, butchering prostitutes and young strippers, moving ever closer to an encounter with the object of his obsession…

Chloe herself…

Includes a bonus Chloe story: The Trouble with Flappers... 

Chloephiles!
Follow Chloe on Twitter



Now in paperback, Kindle, Nook and i apps!
From Barnes & Noble: Buy
From Golden Perils Press: Buy
From Amazon:
NIGHT DEMONS

Night Demons Book Trailer

NIGHT DEMONS

"If you like Salem's Lot & Dark Shadows--you'll love Night Demons!"

With this classic horror novel in the tradition of Stephen King and Shirley Jackson, old flames and old ghosts converge in the supernaturally cursed seaside town of Dark Harbor, Maine. A century of small town secrets and hidden pasts, long-buried demons and desires, bizarre rites and a timeless lust for power and passion rage up when former teacher Paul Stanford returns to the place of his birth to confront a lifetime of nightmares and blood-soaked memories...

Excerpt


Now in Kindle, Nook and paperback!

From Barnes & Noble: Buy
From Golden Perils Press: Buy
From Amazon:
Grimm
Now in Kindle & Nook!


Grimm Book Trailer

GRIMM

When retired Detective Sergeant Arlo Grimm refuses to accept the death of his youngest son in a botched drug bust, his investigation plunges him into a world of the supernatural, deep-buried conspiracies and horrors he never believed existed. Teamed with a wayward exotic dancer named Chloe, Arlo finds himself forced to accept truths he has spent his entire life denying and struggling to survive against a coven of ageless witches determined to resurrect a demon.

"In the 'vein' of Kolchak: The Night Stalker and Buffy the Vampire Slayer..."

Excerpt


Now in Kindle, Nook & trade paperback.


From Barnes & Noble: Buy
From Golden Perils Press: Buy
From Amazon:

Dark Harbors

DARK HARBORS

At the shores of Evil...lies Dark Harbor, Maine, a strange, cursed town long haunted by the ghosts of the past and the spirits of the present. A town where the boundaries between good and evil, reality and the fantastical, the past, present and future merge. A ghostly black train emerges out of the early morning mist; a mother strives to find the child she lost years earlier to a vengeful water entity, a beautiful witch seeks to corrupt a a young newlywed; the skeletons of children on a pirate slave ship crawl from their watery graves...Journey deep into realms of the paranormal and terror with 29 stories of horror and dark fantasy. Horror/Dark Fantasy/Suspense

Excerpt



Now in paperback, Kindle and Nook and i apps!

From Barnes & Noble: Buy
From Golden Perils Press: Buy
From Amazon:
The Nightmare Club #1

THE NIGHTMARE CLUB #1:
The Headless Paperboy

When October Williams moved to the small seaside town of New Salem, Maine, he hardly expected to be chased by the ghost of the Headless Paperboy. But New Salem is a town gripped by the supernatural where anything can happen...

October soon learns a strange and terrifying tale. Every Halloween three children vanish as the ghost begins searching for his head. Riding a twenty-year-old bicycle and hurling flaming newspapers, the spook needs one more victim before disappearing for another year.

Together with a band of misfit kids who call themselves the Nightmare Club, a strange girl named Alliecat who wants to shove her way into the group, and a pot-bellied pig named Barnabas, he must find the Paperboy's head and put it back with the body before it's too late and he loses his own! Children's Horror Series, Ages 8-adult

Excerpt


Now in Kindle, Nook , paperback & i apps.


From Barnes & Noble: Buy
From Golden Perils Press: Buy
From Amazon:
The Dark Riders

THE DARK RIDERS

Years ago a young orphan killed a vicious outlaw who raped his sister, but when Chris Durrin thought nightmares and grief would be the only things stalking him for the rest of his life, he was wrong. Dead wrong. Because Milus Clint, the outlaw Chris shot down on that fateful day in the past, has returned from the grave, a creature neither alive nor dead, a thing of the night and bloodthirsty craving. Dead-Walkers, the Apaches called them, but the white man had another name: Vampire. Horror/Western/Vampire

Excerpt


Now in trade paperback , Kindle, Nook and i apps.


From Barnes & Noble: Buy
From Golden Perils Press: Buy
From Amazon:
Pistolero

PISTOLERO

The parched dusty streets of the Old West carried many a threat for an unwary traveler but none more dangerous than the evil that stalked the night-darkened alleys of Mascarada, New Mexico. Hiding in shadow, slashing and ripping the flesh of young women and leaving behind their mutilated bodies, the Mascarada Ripper vanishes into the night like a ghost. But when a young outlaw is offered a pardon to bring the killer to justice dead or alive, he finds himself confronted with the horrors of his own past and the loss of the very thing he sought to protect by running from Mascarada years before. Horror/Western/Suspense

Excerpt


"With King announcing his retirement, don't be surprised if Hopkins takes over his reign at the top of the New York Times Bestseller List." --knowbetter.com


moondancer cover

Moondancer

Beneath the barren sands of the moon lurks terror...

FREE Short Story

Download


Available also in electronic format from
GOLDEN PERILS PRESS

by Howard Hopkins

  • The Dark Riders (Vampire/western)*

    1. Excerpt  

  • Pistolero (Ripper/Western) Fictionwise #2 Best-Seller
    1. Excerpt
  • Grimm (Horror) *Fictionwise #3 Best-Seller
    1. Excerpt
  • The Nightmare Club #1: The Headless Paperboy (Children's Horror series, Ages 8+)
    1. Excerpt
  • Dark Harbors *(Horror/supernatural Short Story Anthology)  Fictionwise #2 Best-Seller
    1. Excerpt
  • Night Demons (Horror) Fictionwise.com #1 Best-Seller
    1. Excerpt
  • The Chloe Files #1: Ashes to Ashes
  • The Chloe Files #2: Sliver of Darkness 

 *EPPIE Award Finalist    *EPPIE Award Finalist

Digg this page!


Howard's Dark Bits Blog: Thoughts and humor on writing, life, books, monkeys and Pop Tarts, oh, my!
Dark Bits
Updated weekly

Dark Bits

Grab this Headline Animator


For the latest updates, new releases, contests and giveaways please

Join Howard's Mailing List
Enter your name and email address below:

Name:
Email:
Subscribe Unsubscribe


The Chloe Files What's Chloe been up to since Grimm?
Keep up with Chloe's supernatural encounters in:
The Chloe Files

Howard's Latest:

Vids and Vlogs


Home   Press  Reviews  News  Gallery  Golden Perils
Blurbs Contact  The Chloe Files  Dark Bits Blog
Children's Horror Golden Perils Press Westerns Horror

Horror books and horror stories by horror and western
author Howard Hopkins